

Democracy and Standards Committee

A meeting of the Democracy and Standards Committee will be held at the The Jeffery Room, The Guildhall, Northampton on Thursday 20 October 2022 at 6.00 pm

Agenda

1.	Apologies for Absence and Notification of Substitute Members
2.	Declarations of Interest
	Members are asked to declare any interest and the nature of that interest which they may have in any of the items under consideration at this meeting.
3.	Minutes (Pages 5 - 10)
	To confirm the Minutes of the meeting of the Committee held on 28 th July 2022.
4.	Chair's Announcements
	To receive communications from the Chair.
5.	Boundary Review Task and Finish Group
	To consider the report and recommendations of the Boundary Review Task and Finish Group. (To follow)
6.	Updates to the Constitution (Pages 11 - 306)
7.	Member Development- Mandatory training and specific Training needs for the Democracy and Standards Committee (Pages 307 - 316)
8.	Review of Committee Work Programme 2022/23 (Pages 317 - 320)
	To review and note the Committee Work Programme 2022/23.

9.	Urgent Business
	The Chairman to advise whether they have agreed to any items of urgent business being admitted to the agenda.
10.	Exclusion of Press and Public
	In respect of the following items the Chairman may move the resolution set out below, on the grounds that if the public were present it would be likely that exempt information (information regarded as private for the purposes of the Local Government Act 1972) would be disclosed to them: The Committee is requested to resolve: "That under Section 100A of the Local Government Act 1972, the public be excluded from the meeting for the following item(s) of business on the grounds that if the public were present it would be likely that exempt information under Part 1 of Schedule 12A to the Act of the descriptions against each item would be disclosed to them"

Catherine Whitehead Proper Officer 12 October 2022

1

Democracy and Standards Committee Members:

Councillor Suresh Patel (Chair)

Councillor Andrew Grant (Vice-Chair)

Councillor Mike Warren Councillor Danielle Stone Councillor Andrew Kilbride Councillor Laura Stevenson Councillor Daniel Cribbin Councillor Jonathan Harris Councillor Cecile Irving-Swift

Information about this Agenda

Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence and the appointment of substitute Members should be notified to <u>democraticservices@westnorthants.gov.uk</u> prior to the start of the meeting.

Declarations of Interest

Members are asked to declare interests at item 2 on the agenda or if arriving after the start of the meeting, at the start of the relevant agenda item

Local Government and Finance Act 1992 – Budget Setting, Contracts & Supplementary Estimates

Members are reminded that any member who is two months in arrears with Council Tax must declare that fact and may speak but not vote on any decision which involves budget setting, extending or agreeing contracts or incurring expenditure not provided for in the agreed budget for a given year and could affect calculations on the level of Council Tax.

Evacuation Procedure

If a continuous fire alarm sounds you must evacuate the building via the nearest available fire exit. Members and visitors should proceed to the assembly area as directed by Democratic Services staff and await further instructions.

Access to Meetings

If you have any special requirements (such as a large print version of these papers or special access facilities) please contact the officer named below, giving as much notice as possible before the meeting.

Mobile Phones

Please ensure that any device is switched to silent operation or switched off.

Queries Regarding this Agenda

If you have any queries about this agenda please contact Tracy Tiff & Marina Watkins via the following:

Tel: 01604 837408 & 01327 302236 Email: <u>democraticservices@westnorthants.gov.uk</u>

Or by writing to:

West Northamptonshire Council One Angel Square Angel Street Northampton NN1 1ED